Final Results for the 2013 Election

The final election results came in last week and the news was great for bicycling. In the 44 races that Cascade endorsed candidates, 39 won.


The final election results came in last week and the news was great for bicycling. In the 44 races that Cascade endorsed candidates, 39 won. 

As bicyclists, we all know how riding a bike makes us healthier and happier. And lots of other people know it too --- more than 70% of people say they want to bike more often. But these people find streets are too unsafe, and when safe routes do exist, too often the routes are not direct or are too hilly.

It doesn't have to be this way. With the right leaders, we can get better policies adopted and secure better funding for bicycle infrastructure. We'll be able to connect our neighborhoods and cities with safe routes for families to ride, where we can either ride in bike lanes fully protected by a barrier from vehicle traffic or ride in low volume, slow speed neighborhood streets.

That's why we're so thrilled that so many champions for bicycling will be on city and county councils across the region.

Especially exciting are the slate of canditates we helped elect in Kirkland and Lake Forest Park, both of which will have clear pro-bike majorities who will help push forward on the Cross Kirkland Corridor, access to the Burke-Gilman Trail, and safe routes to transit.

We also helped elect new mayors in Auburn (Nancy Backus), Issaquah (Fred Butler), and Mukilteo (Jennifer Gregerson) who will be local and regional champions for bike infrastructure. Also, two pro-bike Port of Seattle commissioners, John Creighton and Stephanie Bowman, will continue to serve on the five-member commission and better help us coordinate bike safety and freight mobility.

Here's the outcomes for every endorsed race:

State Races

Endorsed candidate


State Senate District 26

Nathan Schlicher


County Races


King County Executive

Dow Constantine

King County Council, Pos. 1

Rod Dembowski

Snohomish County Council, Pos. 1

Bill Blake


Snohomish County Council, Pos. 5

Dave Somers

Port Races


Port of Seattle, Pos. 1

John Creighton

Port of Seattle, Pos. 3

Stephanie Bowman

City Races


Auburn Mayor

Nancy Backus

Auburn City Council, Pos. 6

Rich Wagner

Bainbridge Island City Council, North Ward

Val Tollefson

Bainbridge Island City Council, South Ward

Roger Townsend

Bellevue City Council, Pos. 4

Steve Kasner


Bellevue City Council, Pos. 6

Lynne Robinson & Vandana Slatter

Lynne Robinson

Bremerton City Council, Pos. 4

Greg Wheeler

Burien City Council, Pos. 1

Lauren Berkowitz

Burien City Council, Pos. 5

Nancy Tosta

Des Moines City Council, Pos. 7

Dave Kaplan

Edmonds City Council, Pos. 3

Adrienne Fraley-Monillas

Federal Way City Council, Pos. 4

Jeanne Burbidge

Federal Way City Council, Pos. 6

Martin Moore

Kenmore City Council, Pos. 4

Nigel Herbig

Kirkland City Council, Pos. 1

Jay Arnold

Kirkland City Council, Pos. 2

Shelley Kloba

Kirkland City Council, Pos. 3

Penny Sweet

Kirkland City Council, Pos. 5

Amy Walen

Kirkland City Council, Pos. 7

Doreen Marchione

Lake Forest Park City Council, Pos. 1

Hilda Thompson

Lake Forest Park City Council, Pos. 3

John Wright

Lake Forest Park City Council, Pos. 5

Mark Phillips

Lake Forest Park City Council, Pos. 7

John Resha

Issaquah Mayor

Fred Butler

Mercer Island City Council, Pos. 2

Dan Grausz

Mercer Island City Council, Pos. 5

Tana Senn

Mukilteo Mayor

Jennifer Gregerson

Mukilteo City Council, Pos. 3

Randy Lord

Sammamish City Council, Pos. 1

Kathleen Huckabay

Seattle Mayor

Mike McGinn


Seattle City Council, Pos. 2

Richard Conlin


Seattle City Council, Pos. 4

Sally Bagshaw

Seattle City Council, Pos. 6

Nick Licata

Seattle City Council, Pos. 8

Mike O’Brien

Shoreline City Council, Pos. 3

Will Hall

Shoreline City Council, Pos: 7

Chris Roberts

Tacoma City Council, Pos. 2

Robert Thoms

Share this post