“Ride Leader of the Year” Recognition-2013

Another year is screaming by, and yes, it’s already time to collect your nominations for the 2013 Ride Leader of the Year. As we have more than 225 ride leaders who volunteer their time to lead in excess of 1600 rides a year (including CTS), some definitely go the extra mile and deserve special recognition.

DSC_0535 copy Jan Johnson, pictured in the foreground, received the Ride Leader of the Year award in 2012.

The Rides Committee announces the recipient at Cascade’s annual Volunteer Recognition Party, held in December.

This award was created in 2005 to specially recognize extraordinary contributions to our Rides Program. Over the years our honorees have included Per and Shana Sunde, Norm Tjaden, Mike Kelly, Gary Strauss, Scott Kralik, Craig Mohn, Francis Gan and Jan Johnson -- all outstanding contributors to Cascade's Daily Rides Program.

Now, for 2013, we need your help.

Whether you are a Ride Leader or a riding member, if you know a leader you believe deserves this recognition, we want to hear from you. Look back and ask yourself; did anyone go the extra mile in terms of cue sheets and maps, and really great routes? Was anyone particularly friendly, welcoming, and helpful? Did the leader keep to the advertised pace, start on time, and advocate good safety practices? All these factors add up, so if anyone stands out to you, please let us know.

For each nominee, the Rides Committee will consider the number of rides led, if s/he answered the call when leaders or sweeps were needed, did s/he assist on CTS, and were waiver forms turned in on time (yes, these are important), as well as other factors. This is a significant honor, so please give it some thought and get back to us no later than Nov. 16.

All nominations are confidential. ides Committee members are ineligible for this award. All nominees must have demonstrated their outstanding performance for more than two years. To be a repeat winner you must wait five years. Nominations can be made by email to cbcrides@cascadebicycleclub.org. or by card/letter to Scott Boggs, Rides Chair, Cascade Bicycle Club Office, 7400 Sand Point Way NE Ste 101S, Seattle WA, 98115.