Bicyclists have spoken: 37 Cascade-endorsed candidates elected

Last night, voters across the region elected 37 candidates who were endorsed by the Cascade Bicycle Club. 

“Tonight was a real victory for bicycling,” said Elizabeth Kiker, Executive Director of the Cascade Bicycle Club. “We’ve got big goals for the coming years and we’re excited to work with elected officials who share our vision in moving this region forward.”

In the highest profile race, although ballots are still being counted, state Senator Ed Murray was elected Seattle mayor.

MurrayColor"Ed Murray's election demonstrates Seattle voters' commitment to investing in basic city services from police to critical infrastructure.” said Brock Howell, Cascade’s Policy and Government Affairs Manager.  “Throughout the campaign Ed has stated his unequivocal support cycling infrastructure. We look forward to working with him to increase safe bike routes to school, work and across the city."

In Bellevue, voters elected two Cascade-endorsed candidates.

“With the election of Lynne Robinson, the Bellevue City Council now has now has a majority for bicycling, light rail and a walkable downtown,” said Taldi Walter, Policy and Government Affairs Manager for Cascade. “And with the election of five Cascade-endorsed candidates to the Kirkland City Council, we have a genuine opportunity for creating truly bike-friendly communities on the Eastside.”

Here’s the complete results for Cascade’s endorsed candidates:

State Races

Endorsed candidate


State Senate District 26

Nathan Schlicher


County Races


King County Executive

Dow Constantine

King County Council, Pos. 1

Rod Dembowski

Snohomish County Council, Pos. 1

Bill Blake


Snohomish County Council, Pos. 5

Dave Somers

Port Races


Port of Seattle, Pos. 1

John Creighton

Port of Seattle, Pos. 3

Stephanie Bowman

City Races


Auburn Mayor

Nancy Backus

Auburn City Council, Pos. 6

Rich Wagner


Bainbridge Island City Council, North Ward

Val Tollefson

Bainbridge Island City Council, South Ward

Roger Townsend

Bellevue City Council, Pos. 4

Steve Kasner


Bellevue City Council, Pos. 6

Lynne Robinson & Vandana Slatter

Lynne Robinson

Bremerton City Council, Pos. 4

Greg Wheeler

Burien City Council, Pos. 1

Lauren Berkowitz

Burien City Council, Pos. 5

Nancy Tosta

Des Moines City Council, Pos. 7

Dave Kaplan

Edmonds City Council, Pos. 3

Adrienne Fraley-Monillas


Federal Way City Council, Pos. 4

Jeanne Burbidge

Federal Way City Council, Pos. 6

Martin Moore

Kenmore City Council, Pos. 4

Nigel Herbig

Kirkland City Council, Pos. 1

Jay Arnold

Kirkland City Council, Pos. 2

Shelley Kloba

Kirkland City Council, Pos. 3

Penny Sweet

Kirkland City Council, Pos. 5

Amy Walen

Kirkland City Council, Pos. 7

Doreen Marchione

Lake Forest Park City Council, Pos. 1

Hilda Thompson

Lake Forest Park City Council, Pos. 3

John Wright

Lake Forest Park City Council, Pos. 5

Mark Phillips

Lake Forest Park City Council, Pos. 7

John Resha

Issaquah Mayor

Fred Butler

Mercer Island City Council, Pos. 2

Dan Grausz

Mercer Island City Council, Pos. 5

Tana Senn

Mukilteo Mayor

Jennifer Gregerson

Mukilteo City Council, Pos. 3

Randy Lord

Sammamish City Council, Pos. 1

Kathleen Huckabay

Seattle Mayor

Mike McGinn


Seattle City Council, Pos. 2

Richard Conlin


Seattle City Council, Pos. 4

Sally Bagshaw

Seattle City Council, Pos. 6

Nick Licata

Seattle City Council, Pos. 8

Mike O’Brien

Shoreline City Council, Pos. 3

Will Hall

Shoreline City Council, Pos: 7

Chris Roberts

Tacoma City Council, Pos. 2

Robert Thoms